‘Walang Forever’ wins best picture award, ‘My Bebe Love’ tops early box office gross as Metro filmfest breaks record

Jennylyn Mercado, Jericho Rosales, Maine Mendoza win top acting awards

The ongoing Metro Manila Film Festival has broken last year’s box office record with a gross sales of tickets of P380 million in only three days since opening on Christmas Day.
This was learned from Dominic Du, a member of the Metropolitan Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committee, who said that the three-day box office gross earnings of P380 million was higher than last year’s P364 million for the same period.
With the good showing, filmfest organizers and participants forecast box office earnings could surpass the P1 billion earnings last year.
Du disclosed that the top four movies of the eight entries are “My Bebe Love” starring Vic Sotto, AiAi de las Alas and the “AlDub” love team Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza; “Beauty and the Bestie” which stars Vice Ganda, Coco Martin and the love team James Reid and Nadine Lustre, also known as JaDine; “All You Need is Pag-ibig” starring Kris Aquino and the love teams of Jodi Sta. Maria and Ian Veneracion and Nadine Lustre and Daniel Padilla; and “Haunted Mansion”.
Du refused to disclose which of the top four movies was the highest grossing movie but reports from the Philippine Entertainment Portal and the top network GMA, indicated that “My Bebe Love” was the topnotcher as of December 27.
Du, however, revealed that there is a possibility that there will be changes in the Top 4 following the just-concluded MMFF Awards Night on Sunday held at the Kia Theater at the Araneta Center in Cubao, Quezon City.. .
“No changes in the top 4 rankings, so far,” Du said in an interview on the first three-day performance in the box office of the eight movie entries..
According to the PEP and GMA reports which they said was based on figures from the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman Emerson Carlos, “My Bebe Love #KiligPaMore” led in the three-day box office tally with P159 million. The movie is a presentation of OctoArts Films, MZET, APT, MEDA, at GMA Films.
Following closely in second place was the entry “Beauty and the Bestie” with gross of P131 million.
Third placer was “Walang Forever” with three-day gross of only P36 million. The movie stars Jericho Rosales and Jennylyn Mercado who is the back-to-back best actress awardee.
“Haunted Mansion” was fourth with gross of P29 million. The movie stars Janella Salvador, Marlo Mortel at Jerome Ponce.
At press time, there were still no figures released for the entries “All You Need is Pag-ibig,” “Buy Now Die Later,” “Nilalang,” and “Honor Thy Father,” according to PEP and GMA in their reports.
During the awards ceremonies, the movie entry “Walang Forever” was declared the Best Picture and won five other awards including Best Actor for Jericho Rosales and the Best Actress for Jennylyn Mercado. “Walang Forever” is not in the top four but its win could boost its box office ratings.
A movie newcomer, Maine Mendoza, was adjudged the filmfest’s Best Supporting Actress for her role in “My Bebe Love” while Tirso Cruz III won the Best Supporting Actor award for the entry “Honor Thy Father” which earlier was disqualified for the best picture award.
The movie entry ‘Buy Now Die later” won the second best picture award while top grossing ‘My Bebe Love’ was third best picture and also got the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural award.
Another movie in the cellar four, “Nilalang,’ and ‘Honor Thy Father’ got five awards each.
Maine Mendoza, known for her Kalyeserye role on GMA network’s “Eat Bulaga” noontime show, said she was surprised with the award.
In her characteristic humor, the Kalyeserye star stayed ahead of her bashers with a tweet. “Bago pa ako ibash ng sambayanan, mauuna na ako.. Bakit ako? Pero maraming salamat po! Magandang umaga sa lahat! — Maine Mendoza (@mainedcm) December 27, 2015”
Despite the overwhelming support of her fans, Mendoza said she was shocked by her win in the category where she competed against veterans Nova Villa and Iza Calzado.
Mendoza received the award for her portrayal of Anna in the movie “My Bebe Love,” which also stars the other half of the phenomenal love team AlDub Alden Richards, Bossing Vic Sotto, and Comedy Queen AiAi Delas Alas.
Former MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino, who for several years headed the filmfest executive committee, was presented a plaque of recognition during the awards night.
Director Erik Matti was chosen as the Best Director for “Honor Thy Father.” Matti was not present at the awards ceremonies but sent a message in which he denounced the filmfest organizers for disqualifying his movie in the Best Picture category after allegedly failing to disclosed its involvement in the Cinema One Originals film festival last November.
Rep. Dan Fernandez, who co-stars in the movie “Honor Thy Father” has filed a resolution in the House of Representatives seeking to investigate the controversial disqualification of “Honor Thy
“Nilalang” bagged the most number of awards for best editing, best film editor, best cinematography, best festival sound, and best festival musical score.
The complete list of winners for the 41st Metro Manila Film Festival
Best Actor: Jericho Rosales (“Walang Forever”)
Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado (“Walang Forever”)
Best Picture: “Walang Forever”
Second Best Picture: Buy Now, Die Later
Third Best Picture: “My Bebe Love”
Best Supporting Actress: Maine Mendoza (“My Bebe Love”)
Best Supporting Actor: Tirso Cruz III (“Honor Thy Father”)
Best Child Performer: Krystal Brimmer (“Honor Thy Father”)
Best Director: Erik Matti (“Honor Thy Father”)
Best Story: “Walang Forever”
Best Screenplay: Paul Sta. Ana (“Walang Forever”)
Best Festival Editing: “Nilalang”
Best Film Editor: Jason Cahapay (“Nilalang”)
Best Festival Cinematography: Pao Orendain (“Nilalang”)
Best Festival Sound: Ditoy Aguila (“Nilalang”)
Best Musical Score: Jessie Lasaten (“Nilalang”)
Best Festival Original Theme Song: “Tao” by Armi Millare (“Honor Thy Father”)
Best Make-up Artist: Ryan Panaligan (“Honor Thy Father”)
Best Visual Effects: “Nilalang”
Best Festival Production Design: “Buy Now Die Later”
Best Float: “Buy Now, Die Later”
FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: “Walang Forever”
Gatpuno J. Villegas Cultural Award: “My Bebe Love”
Short Film Best Picture: “Mumu”
Best Animation Film: “Momento”
New Wave Animation Special Jury Prize: “Lights Lights”
New Wave Full-Feature Special Jury: “Toto”
New Wave Full-Length Best Supporting Actress: Bibet Orteza (“Toto”)
New Wave Full-Length Best Actor: JM De Guzman (“Tandem”) & Francisco Quinto (“Ari”)
New Wave Full-Length Best Director:John Paul Su (“Toto”)